Camp nanowrimo

DSC00002

I’ve just finished camp nanowrimo, and I’ve WON, so sorry for being late with this blog.

For any non-writers who may be viewing this, nanowrimo is a challenge for authors to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. There are virtual camps during the year, one of which is in July. In t h ecamps it is a little less hectic as the author can set his/her own target.

I set myself the target of 10,000 words for July and finished a couple of days ago. I did find it quite difficult. I had originally set 20,000 words. The beauty of the camps is that up to a certain date you can change your target. I wasn’t getting on very well and so I lowered it to 10,000. I’m not sure how I did 50,000 in November!

I’ve entered a short story into a competition too. I’m not expecting anything from that though.

I hope to be able to post a fuller blog next week, but I thought you would all like to know what I’m up to. I am now struggling with my latest novel, a historical novel set in Roman Britain about a slave boy and his sister who want to take revenge on the Romans for taking them away from their family. I am having trouble in finding anything about everyday life among the non-Romanised Britons. Most of what I’ve found has been for primary school kids! Stuff for adults seems to concentrate on the BIG history (who was Governor, who was Emperor, what battles were faught etc.) or the life of the Romanised Britons in the major cities.

If anyone knows anything about this, then I would be grateful if you could let me know.

2 thoughts on “Camp nanowrimo”

Please leave a comment and I'll attempt to get back to you.

