Blogging 101 Identify your target audience

071DIANE1

Who is my target audience? I could write for those that I hope will read my books, but that’s difficult. There is such a wide range of people who may read them, many of which may not be interested in the procedures of writing. I could write for a potential agent or publisher, but I think that may be futile, so I’ve decided to write for my daughter.

This is a poem I wrote. It could be for any first child, I hope some of you recognise the feelings expressed.

(I suppose I’ll have to write about the joys of a second child now to redress the balance!)

FIRST BORN

I saw beauty when I first saw you,
My little girl, so small, so new.
Little toes and fingers small
All wrapped up within your shawl.

At first you crawled, and then you walked.
It wasn’t long before you talked.
The funny little things you said
Are all stored here, within my head.

Your big brown eyes, your curly hair—
I feel such love, you are so rare.
Never was another born
Not at evening, nor at dawn.

My little girl, you are unique
So small, dependent and so weak.
But not for long, my little one:
The years fly by and then you’re gone.

Now you have your own children
The miracle starts once again.
The love I feel for you is passed
By you, to yours, it is so vast.

The love of Mother for her Child
Is never one that’s meek and mild.
It lasts forever and a day.
It never dies, come what may.

V.M.Sang

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101 Identify your target audience”

Please leave a comment and I'll attempt to get back to you.

