A Halloween Poem

First of all, may I apologise for the lateness of this post. I got back from holiday on Sunday at 10pm and had everything to do on Monday, including looking after my grandchildren in the afternoon. I probably should have scheduled it, but I thought I’d have time. Silly me!

Anyway, I’ve just entered the following poem into a Halloween Poetry Competition. I thought you’d like to have a look at it.

 

haunted-castle

Hallowe’en

The moon has hidden her face tonight
Turned away from the Earth.
The clouds are scurrying away in fright
From what the night may give birth,
For tonight the veil is thin.

The wind is blowing the leaves around.
They hide in crannies and nooks.
Cowering, shivering, hope not to be found
By phantoms, ghosts and spooks,
For tonight the veil may tear.

Build a bonfire, create some light.
The spirits are afraid.
They like the shadows, shun what’s bright
And lurk within the shade
For tonight they cross the veil.

Ghouls and spectres, wraiths and shades
Return to Earth tonight.
We’re filled with dread as daylight fades.
The smallest sound will give us fright
For tonight the veil has gone.

I would be interested in what you think of my effort. Please leave a comment, or sign up to my email list.

6 thoughts on “A Halloween Poem”

    1. Thank you Vivian. I’m glad you enjoyed it. From time to time I post poetry, mainly my own, but have posted one my late mother wrote. Her poems were usually an amusing comment on life.

      Like

Please leave a comment and I'll attempt to get back to you.

